Board of Directors

Comharchumann Raidió Átha Cliath Teoranta (C.R.Á.C.T.) is a community co-operative society which was established on 4 July 1989 as a non-profit organisation with the view to providing a radio service to the Irish-speaking community of the Greater Dublin Area. A Board of Directors, elected at the organisation’s AGM every year, directs the co-operative during the year on behalf of the community of interest in conjunction with the Station Manager. Board members give of their time freely and on a voluntary basis.

Members of the Board are representative of the geographic community of interest which we serve, between ordinary members of the community with an interest in the Irish language, members of voluntary Irish Language organisations, experienced broadcasters, various professions, business people etc. The Board is made up of various members of the community – people who come from different backgrounds, who all have a particular interest in Irish. These different members bring specialist knowledge, skills and expertise in various fields to the Board.

Shareholders elect the representatives at the co-op’s AGM. It is also permissible under the rules to co-opt members onto the Board throughout the course of the year, especially when specialised experience or skills are sought/required or when appropriate candidates are identified to fill gaps in the Board’s membership.


Cathaoirleach (Chairperson): Cuan Ó Seireadáin


Cuan is a musician and historian who works with Conradh na Gaeilge. Born in Dublin, he spent over ten years in Germany studying and playing music. He broadcasts regularly on Raidió na Life, and has been a member of the Board since 2016.


Rúnaí (Secretary): PT Mac Ruairí

A journalist, writer and radio broadcaster for over 55 years, PT is an experienced business executive; company director; media lecturer and researcher. A member of Conradh na Gaeilge from 1955 to date, he was President of the Conradh from 1998 – 2003. He spent various periods on the Board of Comhdháil Náisiúnta na Gaeilge from 1975 and was President of the Comhdháil from 2004 – 2010. A founding member of Gaelscoileanna Teo, he spent a period as that organisation’s National Secretary. He was also one of the founders of Scoil Neasáin and worked as the school’s Voluntary Manager from 1970 – 1974. He spent 25 years on the Board of Directors of Lorient Interceltique Festival, which he was also the Irish Head of. He has been a member and broadcaster with Raidió na Life from the beginning and has spent over ten years on the Board of Directors.


Stephen Hanaphy

Capuchin Fundraiser 32

Stephen is a barrister from Dublin, who deals mostly with commercial, company and employment law. He has a degree and doctorate in history from Trinity College Dublin and is very interested in literature, politics and sport. He has been a member of the Board since late 2018.


Cathal Póirtéir

cathal poirteir

Cathal Póirtéir won a number of awards during the 30 years for his work as a broadcaster and producer with RTÉ before he returned to work as a freelance writer and producer. He has published books and CDs in English and Irish on history, folklore and literature. He was founding chair of Aontas na Scríbhneoirí Gaeilge, and serves on the committees of several cultural bodies. He has also written a number of radio and stage plays, television scripts for Ros na Rún on TG4 and is currently involved in writing a novella and an historical novel.


Máire Ní Bhraonáin


Máire Ní Bhraonáin is a presenter, commentator, analyst and secondary school teacher from Co. Galway. She is the presenter of Peil na mBan Beo on TG4 and also presented C.L.U.B with Diarmuid Lyng.
She graduated from Trinity College Dublin, studying Modern Irish and Drama and Theatre Studies, and completed her Post-Grad in NUI Galway.


Cara Nig Fhearraigh